Board of Directors

The Foothills Board of Directors is an elected board required under Title 32, C.R.S. The Board provides a means for those elected officials to engage in policy-making decisions, which affect the park and recreation district. To serve, Board members are required to live or own property within Foothills District boundaries and represent the ward where they reside as well as the entire District. By law, Board members serve a four year term, not to exceed more than two consecutive terms.

Board elections for special districts are currently held in May of even numbered years. Recent legislation has changed those elections to be held in May of odd numbered years. During that transition, board members elected in 2020 and 2022 will serve a three-year term. Four-year terms will resume with the 2023 board election.

The Foothills Board of Directors hires the Executive Director, sets the standards of performance for the Executive Director, then delegates to the Executive Director the authority to manage the staff and resources for the implementation of the policies and direction of the District.

Call for Nominations – Foothills Board of Directors

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, and particularly, to the eligible electors of the Foothills Park & Recreation District (“District”) of Jefferson County, Colorado.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the District will conduct a regular election on the 5th day of May, 2020, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. to elect members of its Board of Directors. At that time, one (1) director will be elected to serve a three-year term in Ward One, one (1) director will be elected to serve a three-year term in Ward Two, and one (1) director will be elected to serve a three-year term in Ward Five.

Eligible electors of the Foothills Park & Recreation District interested in serving on the Board of Directors in Ward One, Ward Two or Ward Five may obtain a Self-Nomination and Acceptance form from the District Designated Election Official (DEO):

Richelle Riley, DEO
6612 S. Ward Street, Littleton, CO  80127 | 303.409.2108

The Office of the DEO is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The Self-Nomination and Acceptance Form must be returned to the DEO by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 28, 2020.

Affidavit of Intent To Be A Write-In-Candidate forms must be submitted to the office of the DEO by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, March 2, 2020.

NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that application for an absentee ballot may be filed with Richelle Riley, DEO, at the contact information referenced above, no later than the close of business on Tuesday, April 28, 2020.

Ward 5 – Chair
Term expires May 2020

Ward 2 – First Vice Chair
Term expires May 2020

Ward 4 – Second Vice Chair
Term expires May 2022

Ward 3 – Treasurer
Term expires May 2022

Ward 1 – Secretary
Term expires May 2020

Wards and Board Representation

Foothills Park & Recreation District’s Board of Directors acted in May 2009 to divide the Foothills District boundaries into separate “Director districts” or “wards”.  The decision was made for the purpose of ensuring equal representation on the board of directors for all areas of the District. The change was approved by the Jefferson County District Court in November 2009.

Five wards were created within Foothills boundaries. One board of directors representative from each ward is elected by the constituents within that ward. The establishment of wards gives District residents more opportunity to provide input for their area. Wards will also help prevent special interests from any one geographic area within the District from holding a majority of representation on the Board. Ultimately, equal and fair representation of District residents based upon population is the goal.

Executive Director

  • Reports directly to the elected Board of Directors and is responsible for all management, administrative, operational and financial aspects of District operations.
  • Maintains the highest level of decision making with responsibility in overseeing all major operational departments.
  • Organizes and directs all phases of district operations by formulating and implementing internal and external District policies and administrative procedures.
  • Upholds and advances the mandates of the District’s mission statement by setting standards and continually evaluating all areas of District operations.